Underage DUI in Huntsville
Alabama's Zero Tolerance Laws
Under Alabama's Zero Tolerance laws, if you are under the age of 21, a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .02% or higher will lead to charges of underage DUI. This limit is considerably lower than the legal limit for adult drivers, which is .08%.
Underage DUI penalties in Huntsville and North Alabama can include:
- Fines up to $2,100
- Automatic 30-day Alabama driver's license suspension
- A DUI or substance abuse program
- Up to 1 year of jail time
With a BAC of .08% or higher, underage drivers face the same penalties for a DUI as adult drivers. An underage DUI conviction in Huntsville will have a serious impact on your future. It is important to seek trusted legal advice from our qualified Huntsville DUI lawyers immediately in the case of an underage DUI charge or arrest.
Fight to defend your rights and freedoms today! Call (256) 539-4464 to schedule your free consultation.
Defending Underage DUI - Crumbley, Blackwell, Wisda & Associates, P.C.
At the Crumbley, Blackwell, Wisda & Associates, P.C. we have nearly 80 years of combined legal experience defending DUI and criminal defense cases in Huntsville and North Alabama. We have received a number of awards for the high caliber of legal representation we provide. We have an Avvo Superb Rating and a Martindale-Hubbell® AV Preeminent® Rating.
Our dedicated DUI Lawyers in Huntsville are committed to seeking the best possible resolution for the individuals we represent, and we have the track record to prove it. Don't just take our word for it; check out our recent case results.
Underage DUI Complications - Huntsville DUI Lawyer
For an individual under the age of 21 in Alabama, it is not only illegal to drink and drive - it is illegal to drink. Along with DUI, there may be other charges filed, including:
- Minor in possession
- Soliciting alcohol
- Possession of false identification (if a fake ID was used to buy alcohol)
- Distributing alcohol to other minors (if other minors in the vehicle were also drinking)
Our Huntsville DUI team offers a free case evaluation for all DUI related cases, contact us today at (256) 539-4464 to schedule your free case evaluation.
With the DUI conviction of a minor, your auto insurance company could cancel your policy or decline to renew. If your policy is not cancelled, your rates can increase by $200 to $300 a month for a high-risk policy, which will last approximately 3 years time. A DUI conviction will show on your criminal record, which can affect your eligibility for various opportunities in the future, including employment and the ability to obtain acceptance into certain colleges.
Let our DUI Lawyer fight for you
Don't try to resolve an underage DUI charge without the help of a highly qualified DUI lawyer. Get our team in your corner to protect your rights and fight for your best possible outcome. Contact us today at (256) 539-4464.